Haulin’: Birchbox


Hey guys! So I got my first Birchbox in the mail! It’s not a huge haul, but I figured it’s the easiest way to review the items and service as a whole!

I wasn’t sure about how I’d feel about paying for a box that I wasn’t sure what would be inside. I quickly got over this when the box came in the mail. It’s like a mini beauty Christmas. The box itself is a bit smaller than I anticipated, but that makes sense since it is filled with sample sized products.

Each box has a theme and includes a card describing all of the items in your personalized box.

July Box

July Box

So each box comes in an outer box that you think “Oh I’ll open it and my samples will be right there!” Nope. Inside the box is… another box! The inner box is pictured above. Inside that there is a layer of tissue and a card talking about what this month’s box has for the theme.

I plan on posting each box and updating on my continuing service.

One important thing to note is that each box may be different. You fill out a profile and get samples based on your needs and preferences.You also get points toward free items or a free box when you rate and review the products in each of your boxes which is pretty awesome!

This month’s products in my box were:

-Birchbox Bobby Pins (2)

I was disappointed when I saw I got bobby pins at first but then when I saw them I was pleasantly surprised. They are fairly thick and sturdy. They also have a cute pattern on them and though they are hard to open at first, they feel like they’ll last a lot longer than most bobby pins.

-DDF Acne Control Treatment

I have a lot of salicylic acid treatments and this is just another one to add to the pile for me. It’s a little thinner than most, which I don’t prefer, but I realy like the larger sample size they included.

-Atelier Cologne Mistral Patchouli

This smells amazing. I wasn’t even  going to smell it because I’m usually not a big fan of patchouli, but I’m glad I did. It says it’s a unisex fragrance on the site, but I’m not sure it’s masculine enough for most guys. I was going to buy some, but then I saw the price tag. I love it, but I don’t want to spend over $100 on a fragrance that is heavier than my usual one and that I would only wear in the evening.

-theBalm InStain in Swiss Dot

It has a cute little magazine cover packaging and a magnetic clasp on the front. When opened it reveals a small pot of cheek stain. This goes on more sheer than expected, and I plan to use the whole sample but won’t purchase in this color (maybe another). It’s just too red for my skintone. I really do love she sheer and streak free application though!

-Klorane Extra-Gentle Dry Shampoo With Oat milk

I saved my favorite for last! I have tried a LOT of other different dry shampoo brands, and this has to be one of the best! It has a nice light scent which is great because it won’t compete with any perfumes you put on, but it also doesn’t have that chemical smell that many other dry shampoos have.

It lasted a long time. I’ve found some others that look ok at first and then when you check two hours later it’s like you didn’t do anything to it. That’s not the case with this one.

It gave my hair more volume which I don’t personally like (I have a LOT of hair), but I know that a majority of people do look for this and it definitely delivers. It also didn’t give me that chalky finish to my hair that some others do. Overall, this is the thing I found in the box to be most worth purchasing!

Have you tried Birchbox? What did you think? Love or hate any of the products above?

One thought on “Haulin’: Birchbox

Leave a Reply

