Review: Urban Decay Vice 2 Palette


Hey guys! Sorry I have been MIA lately. I have had a lot of things going on in my personal life such as a few losses in my family and friends that took priority, but now I am back in action!!

I know I am a bit behind on this but I still wanted to post it up for everyone to see!

Urban Decay Vice 2!! Here it is in the outside package in all of its glory

244

Then the back cover, showing the different colors in the palette

245

When you take it out of the box the packaging of the palette itself is absolutely flawless. It’s a gorgeous swirl of different shades of purple. The ‘UD’ logo is raised and has almost like a gem look to it. In the box there is a foam piece protecting this as well so it won’t get scratched up while in transit.

246

Here is the inside of the palette with all of the different shades. There are 20 in total. It is a mix of bright, statement making hues and some neutrals. I would say that this would pair well if you already have one of the Naked palettes, but on it’s own, this does not offer a large range of neutral shades to make a complete look out of this one palette alone.

247

It does come with a decent Good Karma double ended brush. I like the brushes the UD includes in their palettes MUCH more than some other brands’ brushes. This little baby is a keeper and actually usable.

249

Here is a look at just the shadows themselves

251

And without further ado, here are the swatches. I know that there are a lot of swatches of this palette out already, but I had a hard time finding them on very pale skin, so I thought I’d still include them! Swatches are done in 2 swipes with clean hands and fingers. No brushes or primers were used.

254

So first up we have Smokeout, which is a dark taupe color with a satin finish.

Lovesick is black with a micro glitter. The glitter appears mostly silver and is more apparent than the photo shows.

Shell Shock is a straight up silver metallic with an amazing color payoff.

Coax is a metallic-y pink with some gold shimmer micro glitter.

255

X-Rated is a light pink with a touch of satin and not at apparent on my skin tone as I was expecting.

Prank is EASILY one of my favorites from the whole palette. It’s a dark navy blue with turquiose shimmer in it and reminds me of a peacock. haha The navy base is a matte though which makes it a little easier to use for wearable looks.

Madness is a super bright blue metallic and has some blue shimmer in it.

Strike is a gold shimmery shade with added silver glitter. I thought Strike was going to be as highly pigmented as Shell Shock, but is not as striking upon application (which is ironic given the name).

258

Stash is a pretty olive shimmer. It also has some iridescent micro glitter. This is one of the shades that I’m sure I will be using less, but it is very pretty nevertheless.

Poison is a beautiful dark grey satin with glitter. One of the more wearable day to day colors and another personal favorite of mine!

Radar is a brown metallic with micro glitter. The glitter in this one is iridescent and the payoff is HUGE. This one stands out SO much on my skin and is very versatile. You can use it to replace your average browns in your look to give it some extra pop!

Damaged is a deep green shimmer. Another highly pigmented color, just make sure you prime well underneath. As you can see, without a primer it shows EVERYTHING. Every detail of the skin underneath is exposed.

261

Voodoo is another favorite of mine! It’s a pretty deep metallic purple and has some gorgeous glitter.

Betrayal is very bright once it’s on! It’s a purple satin duo-chrome that goes from purple to an almost periwinkle blue.

Derailed is a taupey-grey metallic shimmer. I am a  huge fan of greys, so this is another personal favorite. This would be nice in place of the other. This one is good to use in place of Smokeout when you are looking for something extra!

Dope is a nice transition from all of the brights in this palette. It’s a champagne color with a satin finish that you could easily use for a wash of color if running late to make yourself look a little more put together without doing an entire eye look.

262

Toxic is a bronzey rose metallic shade that would be a great addition to the Naked 3. It is a bit darker on my skin than many of the Naked 3 shades, but that makes it great of the crease. It also has a bit of micro glitter as well which can help add a little drama.

Habit is easily my least favorite shade in this palette. It’s a tan-nude shade and is meant to help balance out all of the metallics and shimmers in the palette as a whole. I feel like if it were a bit more pigmented it would impress me more (I only did 2 swipes of it just like the rest of them of the swatch but I LOADED my finger up with product for each of those swipes, otherwise it wouldn’t be visible to the camera).

Ambush is a brown satiny metallic that reminds me a lot of UD’s Roach without the micro-glitter.

Rewind is nothing to swoon over. I feel as if this and Habit were kind of thrown is an afterthought to make sure that they could market the palette as being more versatile to the point where you can create complete looks from it. It’s just a brown matte that’s nothing to write home about.

Overall, the palette has some amazing colors in it, but I find that they are best when use in conjunction with other palettes. Many shades are a great addition to ones that I already own to give me some more pops of color.

The downside is that I find it harder to make a complete look out of this palette alone, so it’s not ideal for traveling as you’ll find you need to bring something else to go with it. I’m still satisfied with my purchase since I don’t have anything super similar to some of the colors and it’s still a great bargain compare to buying 20 UD shades separately.

What is your favorite shade in Vice 2? What do you hope to see in a Vice 3 if they make one?

3 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay Vice 2 Palette

Leave a Reply

