Haulin’: Ulta -March 2014


Hi there guys! Hope you are all enjoying your St. Patrick’s Day! I made this haul at the beginning in the month and thought I’d share now since ULTA is having some great deals right now! They also have their 21 Days of Beauty that is currently going on with a new promo every day for 3 weeks, so make sure you check that out!

 

214

OPI TXTure Effect -$9.99

This set comes with a limited edition liquid sand polish in My Current Crush and a base coat. Liquid Sand and other texture polishes are meant to be worn without a top coat. The liquid sand is a really pretty purple shade with a hint of glitter that will peek out from the texture. It was $14.95, but I got it on sale for $9.99 which I thought was pretty good since they are 2 full sized bottles.

215

Stila Color Me Glossy -$28

This set was not technically on sale, but is a huge bang for your buck! It comes with 9 click pen glosses that are a little smaller than the ones you would buy individually (.05 oz vs .08) but the individual ones run $2 EACH, so this set is a steal. Inside it also has the pens packaged in smaller sets of 3 so you can give a set or two as a gift and keep a few for yourself if you wanted to! The colors are a nice range too of shimmers, sheers, and bold colors.

227

NYX Glam Eye Shadow in Sable- $2.49

This is a really pretty dark chocolatey brown shade with a bunch of silver glitter. Originally $4.99 but purchased for  $2.49, Sable is a great and inexpensive addition to my makeup bag! I always forget how much I really like NYX especially considering how much I can get for so cheap!!

 

216

The New Black Demi Lavato Studded 3 Piece Kit – $9.99

I picked this up because it was on sale (originally $14) and I wanted to see how it compares to the Ciate set that I bought that is very similar. They both come with silver balls to cover your nail in after you put on some polish, but the ones in the Ciate kit appear to be a bigger size than the tiny ones in this kit. I’m interested to see how the size affects the wear time of each.

 

 

221

NYX BB Cream in Light -$12.99 

I had to include this picture of my cat, G (aka G Lady) trying to assist me with my photos for the blog :). Below is a cat-less photo. I just purchased a $40 BB cream from another brand at Sephora literally minutes before I  went to Ulta and found this (I know, I have a problem). This is a very similar texture and when using the tester it seemed like their light shade would be light enough for me which is usually impossible to do. If it is a tad darker in other lights, I can also just sheer it out if I’m looking for less coverage, or I can add a powder over it.

223

 

Here it is without the box. The product inside is very big for only being about $13!

224

ULTA Nail Polish in Love Fern -$6

In person, this polish looks like shamrock green and turquoise had a baby. I love that I can’t quite tell if it’s one or the other (or neither for that matter). It’s glitter in a clear base, so I like that it’s a bit different than anything else that I own (and I have a LOT of nail polish!).

ULTA Blush in Afterglow -$7

I’m assuming that this is Ulta’s version of NARS Orgasm and is meant to be a dupe. I have not used this long enough yet but it seems very similar and with the MUCH higher price-point on the NARS, this might be a better option even if you do need to build the color a bit more!

ULTA Lip Crayon in Coral Kiss -$8

I was hoping that this would be more nourishing on my lips than it actually is. I like the color and I would wear this over a balm, but I really would prefer to get a tinted lip butter next time in a similar packaging since I like the ease of putting this on and the twist up style. (Clinique has nice ones)

225

China Glaze in Whirled Away -$4.99 

I was much more excited about this when I bought it than when I actually used it. I’m hoping it will grow on me. I really like the hex glitter in white and black, but there are also long skinny bar like glitters in black that I did not see int he bottle that I am really not a fan of. I’m hoping to find a color that this will look really nice over, but again I was much more excited about it when I thought it was just 2 different colors of hex glitter.

229

BONUS: Ulta Spring GWP (retail of $88)

Now I would never pay $88 for the bag and its contents, but I did think this was a very nice (and generous) GWP. I got it for spending $15+ on Ulta brand items.

You get the bag itself along with all kinds of items inside. The brushes that are shown wrapped in plastic in the picture are honestly throw away brushes. I will probably give these to one of my cousins to use with their kid’s play makeup.

The super shiny lip gloss in Illusion is a smaller tube but a very pretty, girly color.

Next is a dual ended liner in Deep Brown and Black. This liner is a little smaller as well and would be great for travelling when you don’t want to being both a brown and black full sized liner.

A full sized Voluptuous Volume mascara is next. While I have not yet tried this, it looks on the outside like the packaging for Covergirl’s Lash Blast, but thinner. I’m wondering if this is on purpose and therefore if they have similar formulas (and results).

Sweet Cheeks cheek color comes in the set and it is a cooler toned pink blush with a lot of silver shimmer to it. I’m excited to try this because while I like the shimmer in Orgasm and After Glow, I like silver much better on my cool toned skin!

Super Shiny Lip Butter in Vienna is not my favorite color, but more what I was looking for in terms of nourishing to my lips. It’s still not as effective as a balm would be, but it is much better than the crayon. I really wish they would have included a color like Rome instead, but free is free so I’m not complaining!

Flawless Prime primer and a small polish in Fuchsiamania are in the bag but these are pretty self explanatory and nothing too crazy.

3 eyeshadow quads were included as well:

-Chic Quad – Sahara Sand, Sunkissed, Mosaic, and Glittering Sand – a mix bolder primary colors and one taupey neutral

-Classic Quad – Seashell, In the Buff, Silk, Social Climber – shimmery and satiny champagnes and browns

-Dramatic Quad – Iceland, Twilight, Lock & Key, After Hours – shimmery purple, grey, and white with a matte grey to pull the quad together

 

 

I hope you enjoyed my little haul and don’t forget to checkout the 21 Days of Beauty at Ulta and share what you are hauling this month!

One thought on “Haulin’: Ulta -March 2014

  1. Pingback: Haulin’: ELF -March 2014 | Closet Beauty Junkie

Leave a Reply

