Review: bareMinerals Lash Domination Mascara


Hey guys!

I am always trying new mascaras out (even thought I refuse to have more than 2 open at once!) and I tried Lash Domination out recently.

I thought this would be a great time to review this since it is part of Ulta’s 21 Days of Beauty Steals. It is a one day only deal (on Saturday March 29th) and you can get it online or in stores for only $9; it’s usually $18 for the full size! Half off is pretty good!

Photo property of bareMinerals.com

Photo property of bareMinerals.com

First off the brush is a little strange to me. It is a spiral shape and claims to help you coat every lash. It seems kind of like a cheap trick to get people to buy it and try it out since it claims to be different. If anything, I found it to be less effective. I usually apply my mascara by wiggling the wand back and forth at the base of the lash and then brushing through. This is not effective with Lash Domination. Then I tried just brushing through and some other ways, but to no avail.

I also really do not care for the formula itself. One of my favorites is Benefit’s They’re Real! and I was hoping this would be an easier to remove alternative. This is the opposite. This smears EVERYWHERE. Especially upon removal this will smudge all over to give you the ultimate raccoon look. I have had to use makeup wipes, then face wash, and then face wash AGAIN with a Clarisonic when I used more than one coat of Lash Domination! It’s like nothing can help to remove it, it just smears over a wider area of skin to become diluted in color if that all makes sense.

Now, with all of that being said, I do like this for a bit more natural look. If I am only going to use one coat of mascara for just a subtle hint of darker, fuller lashes, then I would use this so it isn’t a total loss. But I find that I like other mascaras and formulas much more and I guess I don’t see the point of using a mascara if you are going to go very subtle.

This would be good for someone who already has long, full, thick lashes who just wants that touch of a tint and a slight definition, but for me this was a dud.

If you want to give Lash Domination a shot still, it’ll be available for $9 (half price) on Saturday 3/29 ONLY at Ulta and Ulta.com!

Leave a Reply

