Haulin’: ELF -March 2014


Hey guys!

I went a little bit crazy on the ELF website and thought I would share what I grabbed, which things I’m loving, and which I would pass on next time!

DSC_0002

They always send your loot in a cute little drawstring bag.

DSC_0004

I couldn’t wait to sort it so I just dumped it on my makeup desk.

 

First item up is the Shimmering Facial Whip.

DSC_0007

 

It makes for a great little highlighter and is only a buck!! The shade I bought is Golden Peach.

DSC_0011

I have just a touch on my hand (the goldish color in the middle of the back of my hand). It catches the light nicely and is just glowy versus having to much shimmer. It can also be sheered out with a bit more blending, but I wanted to leave it a bit stronger so the camera could still pick it up.

DSC_0013

 

These are the Natural and Dramatic lash sets. Natural is on the left. Each set is only $1 and comes with glue (although I have not tried their glue before and have my own as backup).

DSC_0014

 

I love ELF’s brushes. They’re so soft for the price and I can get as many of them as I want for only $1 each.

 

DSC_0016

 

 

This Blending Eye Brush is soft and not too stiff. The bristles are fairly tightly packed and have a lot of movement to them.

DSC_0018

 

The Essential Defining Eye Brush is another one I picked up. I got this for washes of color or using in the crease. Again a soft brush for how cheap it is!

DSC_0034

 

 

The Essential Crease Brush has more of a dome shape to it than the other two. It’s good for smudging and defining. Soft but a bit stiffer than the other two.

DSC_0036

 

 

Next I picked up some of the Glitter Primer. I’ve heard good things about it and since it was only $2 I figure why not go ahead and give it a shot.

DSC_0038

It may be harder to see in the photo, but when swatching it, it had the look and consistency of glue.

DSC_0042

I do like the applicator and how nicely it comes out of the tube. (I didn’t clean it off on purpose so that you could see the glue-like texture on the applicator sides). I haven’t use it yet, but I’ll report on how well it holds glitter on when i get a chance to use it on a night out!

DSC_0045

I got an Eyebrow Kit for $3 and chose the medium kit.

DSC_0046

From just a first impression, the packaging looks eerily similar to NARS (though they do feel different). I also think the product inside looks close to Benefit’s BrowZings, but I haven’t tried that yet.

DSC_0047

The darker side is a wax, and then the lighter side is a powder that you apply over the wax to help it set and appear more natural. DSC_0048

It does come with a little brush, but I think I will be using one of my own brushes instead.

DSC_0049

 

Tinted Moisturizer for $3? Sign me up. I got this is Porcelain.

DSC_0052

Unfortunately as you can see from the streak in the middle of my hand, Porcelain is way too dark on my skin (how sad is that sentence? haha). It’s not so much the depth as it is the MUCH too yellow shade for my skin tone. I will use this up by sheering it out with some of my daily moisturizer (even though this is moisturizer I will mix it with one that does not have a tint) and then dusting ELF’s HD Powder over it. The powder usually has a lightening effect which should help in this situation.

DSC_0054

The HD Blush was a complete impulse buy for $3. I got it in Superstar which is one of the lightest shades available.

DSC_0055

 

It may not look like much, but it is one full pump of product…

DSC_0056

This is it when stippled all over my hand. It is SO MUCH product! For both cheeks I’m assuming I will need about half a pump which means this stuff should last me ages.

DSC_0058

So after the initial over-application, I wiped some off and blended the remaining blush. It’s a pretty rosy color with an almost purple iridescent shift to it.

DSC_0059

Here it is again in a different light so you can see how much more intense it can look in some lighting compared to others. It also acted almost as a stain and set immediately upon application. I do wish it had a little more give time, but it did not actually stain and came off very easily with a makeup wipe.

DSC_0060

The Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder duo was my next purchase at a whopping $3.DSC_0061

Again the packaging has a striking resemblance to NARS in look but not in feel. It feels much more hard and smooth than the NARS cases.

DSC_0062

I’m assuming ELF made this as a way to dupe NARS Blush/Bronzer Duo of Orgasm and Laguna. DSC_0063

The bronzer is very pigmented so I will have to use a very light hand and a lot of blending since I am so pale, but again that means a little will go a long way. I’m interested to see how the blush compares in wear time to NARS Orgasm since I didn’t have the greatest luck with that. The only other  downside I see is that the bronzer has shimmer to it, which is not the best idea if you are looking to do natural looking contouring (as the kit’s name suggests).

My take though is even for the smaller, cheaper size of the NARS product, you can get 7 of the ELF version. That’s right -7 OF THEM. It’s worth the $3 risk and investment if you could potentially save a ton of $ if you do like it!!

DSC_0064

Probably one of my favorite things out of the whole haul is this Jumbo Lip Gloss Stick in Summer Nights. I was put off when I opened it by how dark it looked (I had specifically chosen a lighter shade out of the options available when I ordered). I was hoping this $2 stick would fair better than I got from my recent Ulta haul.

 

DSC_0066

This one did not disappoint! It is much more moisturizing than the Ulta brand one, cheaper (I can get 4 of these for the price of one of Ulta’s!), and it went on more sheer to show a really pretty pink color with a gold shimmer to it. It looks like Orgasm for you lips! On my next order I will be adding about 6 of these to my cart so that I can stash them all over my house, in my purse, at work, etc.

 

So far I would say overall I am happy with everything I got (especially for the price!) except for maybe the moisturizer. Again, it was worth the investment for me to get all of this stuff for so cheap and only end up with one item that I’m not crazy about. Even if I didn’t use it, I would only be out $3!

 

Do you have a favorite product from ELF or another brand that you get great steals and deals from? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

