Rant: My July Makeup No Buy


Hi Lovelies!

 

This may sound strange coming from someone who does beauty blogging, but I have decided the time has come to do a No Buy month! My husband and I are planning a trip to Italy and Ireland later this summer, so I am trying (poorly) to stop spending so much money on things that aren’t a necessity. I usually buy what I want on a deal, but I buy it. I don’t buy anything HUGE mind you, but $40 eye creams and $10 BB creams add up!

 

I was organizing our office today (my half is my makeup room!) and it hit me how much stuff I REALLY have. I was also looking through all of the clothing I have accumulated over the last two months or so. Most items are still in the ORIGINAL bags with tags on them, in the place I put new purchases after I go shopping. That is ridiculous! I’ve decided that I am cleaning out my closet and house and trying to get rid of as many things as possible to declutter my life. A few things may be returned to the store, but most things I do really like, I just haven’t sifted through the clutter to get to them!

 

This will be the first time I have done an official No Buy, so we’ll see how it goes! I work in retail at an outdoor mall, so it does make it harder to avoid the temptation (especially when one of my favorite stores – American Eagle – JUST opened this past week and it’s an outlet location!

 

I’m hoping this will also help me use up some of the millions of products that I’ve accumulated over the last few months! Many are awaiting reviews, so it will make it easier for me to review them when I’m not constantly buying new things to add to the pile!

 

Have you ever done a No Buy? How hard was it to avoid the temptation? What did you get right away when the month ended? Let me know below!

And give some of my product a new home!

3 thoughts on “Rant: My July Makeup No Buy

  1. I did a 90-day spending ban that started January 1 of this year. I was fairly successful. I ended up making two “frivolous” purchases because of two different 50% off promotions. But with both purchases, I spend under $15, I believe. It was difficult not to be tempted, but I think 30 days is totally doable! Use the time to review the products that have been piling up and or start using the makeup that you’ve noticed has been neglected lately. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Rave: ELF Stepping Up Their Game | Closet Beauty Junkie

Leave a Reply

