Review: Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner


Hey guys!

I thought today I would post a review of the Push Up Liner from Benefit! I know a lot of people went over this awhile back but I thought I would give my take on it too since some of my friends have been asking about it.

benefit2

Now for me, Benefit seems to be completely hit or miss. I either LOVE their stuff, or I find that some of it is way over-hyped and not at all worth the money. Let’s see how this held up.

benefit1

The applicator and Accuflex tip are supposed to be the big innovations on this product. You twist the pen to get the liner flowing, then with just a flick you can imprint the tip onto your eye to line up your wings, fill them in and BAM, you have flawless matching wings. Not so much in actual use.

The tip didnt have a large enough opening for me to be able to put a mark where I wanted my wings to be that was still noticeable on my hooded eyes. Lining my eyes was fine, but it was more of a pain than it was worth. I could have used my normal liner and it would be way faster (there is a learning curve with this but in my opinion I am not patient enough to bother).

The formula itself is very dry compared to what I was expecting. It is not as black as I was hoping for either, so I feel like most days I would end up putting a liquid liner over this anyway, which kind of defeats the purpose of using this one. The little orange piece in the photo above is supposed to be taken out and then put back in each time you use it to help keep it from drying but I think the formula is too dry in general for that to make a huge difference.

In the photo below this was my first time trying it after I got anything out. The pen is easy to maneuver, but as you can see on the lower left swatches, it can drag and be very dry, even upon first use!

benefit3

Now I get it that sometimes when you use something new, you have to click or spray it or what have you a few times to get it going. I had to click my pen OVER 50 TIMES to get this going! After a minute or so I was wondering if this was a joke, but nope, it was painfully real. I’m paying $24 to have 50+ clicks without ANYTHING coming out? I call BS on this.

The staying power was okay but once again I think this is something that the makeup world went overboard on with high expectations and the result ended up falling flat. I not only will NOT buy this again, but I will be returning the one I bought as well.

My sister does have this and loves it. She found that it stayed very well on her skin and was matte black enough for her (she is paler that I am at an NC10! and even that is a bit dark sometimes!!), but I would rather save the money and use a drugstore liner since they seem to give me the same results.

Have you tried the Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments below!!

2 thoughts on “Review: Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner

Leave a Reply

