Review: Naked 2 Basics


Hello lovelies!

IMG_2473.JPG

I am ordering the Naked on the Run palette from Urban Decay today, but thought I would also do a post on the Naked 2 Basics for comparison when I get my order in!

I got the Naked 2 Basics because I was looking for something that was more portable than the full sized Naked palettes. I liked that the Basics are neutral still, with this one being more cool toned than the original Naked Basics palette.

The mirror is a nice size for a travel palette as it takes up the entire top portion of the palette. I was hoping the whole thing would be slightly more compact as I have a pretty small makeup bag. It is hard to open, but I actually like that a little bit since that means it doesn’t randomly pop open when being tousled around in my makeup bag on a daily basis.

IMG_2476.JPG

The shades are Skimp, Stark, Frisk, Cover, Primal, and Undone.

I swatched them in order on my hand below. These are done with my finger using one pass, no primer. IMG_2478.JPG

As you can see, Skimp and Stark are barely visible on my pale skin. Skimp does give a bit of a sheen and both would be pretty highlights on darker complexions.

Swatching with a finger, the colors came out chalky and dragged horribly which left a splotchy application.  I did go back and redo 2 of them with brushes so you can see the difference. The swatch on the bottom toward my wrist is Primal, and Undone is the vertical swatch on the left. You can see them compared to the original swatches done with fingers (Undone with finger is top swatch, Primal with finger is 2nd swatch from top).IMG_2479.JPG

As you can see, the use of brushes made a HUGE difference in the way that these applied, so I would make sure you have a set of quality travel sized brushes available to use with this palette.

The fallout though is pretty bad on these. I took a photo of Cover’s fallout after I swiped a brush through it twice to do my eyes one morning. No bueno. That is a lot of wasted product over the life of the palette and if I were using this on the go as I had intended, chances are I would be getting this all over my clothes, car, etc. IMG_2480.JPG

If I would have known at the time that Naked on the Run was going to be coming out, I would have saved my cash and just held out for that. Here’s to hoping that I have better luck with that one as the travel palette I’ve been hoping for!

Did anyone else have better luck with the Naked 2 Basics shadows than I did? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Review: Naked 2 Basics

Leave a Reply

